A rant and update

I received a VERY rude message via facebook today. A reader was infuriated about my sequel not being available yet and accused me of simply letting readers down and dragging out the release to build more suspense and, in her words, milk people for the money. I am absolutely outraged! The reason for Burning Up being delayed is because I am pregnant. Unfortunately, it has made me feel a little less myself recently and writing for hours and hours on end isn’t going to be healthy for me or my unborn child. I will not release a book unless I feel it’s ready and I refuse to rush that to meet the public demand. My health, my unborn child and my professional work is the most important thing to me. Burning Up is in progress and will be released when I feel it is good enough and when I am happy to have people read it. I write because I have a story to tell. Money has never been the driver for my work. When I sat down to write Bound Together in the summer of 2012, I had no idea how well recieved it would be. I adore hearing from fans and readers who have enjoyed the story and characters so much and am grateful to each and every one of you. However, I do not take kindly to accusations that I am procrastinating for financial gain. I assure you, I am not.

Writing, editing and proofing takes a great deal of time and energy. I lack both at this moment in time. I’m hopeful that as my pregnancy progresses, that I will begin to feel a surge of that glowing energy they promise me and when I get it, I can also tell you that book will be flowing out of me like a river! For now, I appreciate the patience, kind words and messages of congratulations that I have received. You make writing even more of a pleasure for me.

Thank you.

12 thoughts on “A rant and update

  1. 1st of all congrats on the baby.
    2nd even thou I can not wait for Burning Up to come out so I can get my hands on it, I am willing to wait as I know it is going to be amazing and so worth the wait.
    So worry about what others say. Xx

  2. Don’t let the small minority get to you! These would also be the same people to complain if you were to rush the release. And if money was a factor, surely releasing it earlier would make more money than taking your time.

    You and your unborn child are far more important than some small minded idiots and wish you a smooth pregnancy free of worry and look forward to reading Burning Up as and when it is released.

  3. Marie, your health and the baby are always first! Always. And the reality is that the book will be here when it comes. Never feel pressured to appease the masses because you would get ridiculed if you released a poorly written book. Fans have patience and being understanding.

  4. Ignore the thick twats you an baby comes first, then the fantastical Burning Up, can’t wait whoop whoop 🙂

  5. I was so disappointed reading this. I’m more than positive your real fans have completely understood the circumstances.Personally Bound Together is one of my faveourite books but the health of yourself and unborn child is more important than anything else, if it helps I had an awful pregnancy but it was worth it all in the end. Congratulations and I wish you and your family well in both your personal and professional life’s and I’m sure Burning Up will be every bit as good and successful as Bound Together xxx

  6. Wow, I can’t believe someone had the gall to do that! That is so wrong! Your health and your baby are most important first and foremost!!! If any of your readers cannot understand that, there is something very wrong with them. Those of us who appreciate your fantastic writing and story telling skills will be patient and wait for the book to be released when you are ready to release it. I know that it will be phenomenal when it does come out! Take care of you and your baby.

  7. Seriously! This person needs to put things into perspective…I love your books as much as anyone but health has to come first always…we real fans support you no matter how long it takes …just be healthy and look after bubba x

  8. I have always had the utmost respect for anyone who can sit and write a book, any book. All the Authors books I read and support have my respect and I have never had a problem waiting for any subsequent book to emerge from their wonderful imagination. Marie, you take as long as you want,I’ll just keep reading Bound Together, I assure you that is no hardship. Take care of yourself and the little one.

  9. Please do not feel that you have to explain to us your personal reasons for the book delay. Your fans will continue to be here when the book is ready. Please take care of you and your family first and for most.

  10. Congrats on pregnancy
    Please do not let a few people get you down I would much rather wait for a great book than have a book rushed. I say this even though I can’t wait for burning up and I know it will be worth the wait !!!!!

  11. Marie just enjoy being pregnant it is truly a gift, I have two beautiful babies of my own and know pregnancy and “glowing” is a crock of shit! I loved your books and look forward to the next one when you feel it’s ready. Always best to take your time once it’s published you can’t take it back do justice to your craft. And say a big fuck off to whoever is jealous of your talent to spend time bad mouthing you. Good luck with your baby, much love Helene x

Leave a Reply

